The Best Ice Cream in Malmo?

I was ready for it. I was armed with an address and a name. I planned for it. I got up early for it. I was ready for the best ice cream in Malmö.

In August, I spent an unfortunately brief 48 hours in Malmö. Upon the recommendation of local travel blogger, Ebba of Ev_adventures, I went in search of the best ice cream in Malmö. She suggested Köld, which has a shop in a mall, but when I was in Malmö, they also had a pop-up shop near the annual Malmö festival. Ebba recommended we check out the pop-up shop while it was open.

Malmo_Kold

On our last morning in Malmö, we got up, ate breakfast, and headed out for ice cream. It was a little on the chilly side for a cold treat, but we couldn’t miss the best ice cream in Malmö. We walked about 20 minutes from our Airbnb to the cute primarily pedestrian street, Södra Förstadsgatan. When we arrived at Köld, it was closed, and the sign said they wouldn’t open until 12pm. It was 11am at the time. We debated giving up or waiting but decided that the best ice cream in Malmö was worth it. We walked a bit further to Triangeltorget, where there’s a fountain, a hot dog stand, and a couple of swings. We grabbed a swing and hung out for an hour, just relaxing.

Malmo_Swing

At 11:57 we walked back to the pop-up shop. It was dark and totally empty. A sign on the door said that they would close when the weather is bad, and we were afraid the breezy day was chilly enough to close the shop. At 11:59 a young woman showed up and unlocked the shop. Yes! My husband chatted with her in Swedish while I stood by stupidly (I don’t speak Swedish). He later told me he asked her what her favorite flavor was, and she said the salted licorice. She opened up the ice cream case and it was apparent something was wrong. Aside from the subtle lack of a tell-tale hum of a freezer, the ice cream all looked like soup! Apparently, the freezer had been left off overnight, and the ice cream was ruined.

Defeated, we left the shop and headed back to our Airbnb. I guess the best ice cream in Malmö will just have to wait until next time!

Leave a comment